Fournales Shocks

Learned Collective…

In the on going quest for remotely adjustable rear shocks, I’ve come across a French brand called Fournales.

These are air sprung shocks, using compressed air rather than an actual spring.

Apparently, adjusting between solo and two up riding is simply a case of increasing the air pressure within it.

Each shock is built to rider and pillion weight specifications, they’re rebuildable and have a two year guarantee.

They’re also competitively priced compared to Wilbur and Hagon shocks.

Sounds like an ideal arrangement on paper.

Has anybody heard of them, and / or had any experience of them?

Are they totally air sprung or are they air preload?
I have no experience of these personally,maybe Fred would be best to ask for an opinion being as he’s French and an engineer

I have never been a fan of air-only suspension. With all the advances in suspension technology, they still use springs for a reason. Even the major manufacturers have largely abandoned them on motocross bike forks too after a fairly recent resurgence.

Mountain biking seems to be the best application.

Thanks guys,

I have a level of skepticism about them myself. If they were that good they’d be used in formula 1 and motogp.

Looks like it’s going to be a Hagon with a hydraulic remote preload.

I have one on my VF1100S Sabre (a VF1000 on steroids with drive shaft). I’m pretty happy with that, you have to pump from time to time depending on the weight of the pilot and the passenger, nothing more.
BUT, if I had to buy it again for one of my other VFs, I won’t! I would buy a second hand CBR1100 Black Bird shock and modify it to fit for about 1/4 the price of a Hagon with more tuning possibilities …

But I may have scottish roots somewhere in my DNA… :moneybag:

2 Likes

What issues do you have with it?

What’s important for me is to be able to adjust it for two up riding without having to disembowel the bike for access just to be able to attack it with a C spanner.