Hello !!

Just a quick hello from British Columbia.

I recently lucked out and found a mint 1985 Canadian model 1000R.

Only 23,000 km and in pretty damn nice shape.

First on the list will be a fork servicing, fluids changed but it really doesn’t need a lot more than that.

I’ve been riding since 1982 and have only ever seen one of these beasts, and it was in a collection, not on the road.

Good looking website, I’ll be making use of the info here.

Enjoy!

I have just turned green with envy, hope that you ride it and don’t keep in a collection… :slight_smile:

Welcome!

Welcome to Heaven for Bikers[8D]

Thanks for the welcome. And yes, the bike is going to be a rider. On beautiful, warm, dry days when I don’t want to be on my Tuono I’ll be on the VF/R.

I took the bike out in the alley last night and ran it around for about 15 minutes. The engine didn’t crank over once before it fired and settled into a steady idle.

Temp came up, fan came out. Idles clean and pulled clean but really, I’m in an alley with no helmet and no insurance … I’m not pushing my luck. But it sounded dead sexy. The only nerve wracking bit is the clatter at idle (about 1000-1200RPM), mainly from right side. Are they a loud engine? How bad is the cam issue on the R models? Is the external oil line upgrade a requirement?

Looks like a set of HEL brake lines are on order. Also new rubber since the BT45’s on it are at least 7 years old. Barely worn, but old. Any suggestions for tire (tyre) options? I see Pirelli Sport Demons and Avon AV45/46 are out there … opinions?

Welcome along, sounds a beauty youve got yourself there. Its easy to get paranoid about these bikes and their cam "history". My understanding is that it was the 750s that suffered by far the worst and that was if people put poor grade lube in and didnt change it regularly.