Newbie here saying Hi

Hi all,

I joined the ranks of VF1000R owners just over a week ago. It’s a restoration project to keep my sane during these weird times with Covid etc. This is now the 4th bike in my garage at the moment but the first rebuild I have taken on.

I’ll probably be asking loads of questions or trying to find parts.
IMG_1944

Laura

2 Likes

Hi Laura welcome to the forum. There are plenty of people who should be able to answer any questions, as for parts the VF1000R was different than the VF1000F models in quite a few ways. I see in your other post you were asking about wheels, this is one of the different parts on the R also the tank, plastics, clocks and rear brake also the engine is different but there are several R owners in the UK who may have spares.

Garyb

Hi and thanks,

Yeah the wheels on mine have been swapped for CBR but I would like some originals if I can find some, my tank is holed so I am trying to either get it repaired or find a replacement, I have also found out there is a difference between the US and European tanks :roll_eyes:

I prefer the European tank, it has a steeper back but that’s just my opinion. I’ve no spare wheels but have a USA tank that I was going to spray due to damaging mine, I would prefer not to sell it but if you cant find another one or get yours repaired I may consider it though someone is bound to have one.

Yeah, the Euro one is much nicer, I am trying to see if there are any workshops who would do it for me.

Depending on where you are in the country (possible logistics issues), these guys could not only repair your tank, they could paint it as well.

http://www.themotorcycleworks.co.uk/

1 Like

Welcome Laura and congratulations on your purchase.
It does have some non standard parts but that’s not all bad,the wheel mod is mostly for tyre choice as no one makes a radial in 16" for the front anymore.
Not sure which shock it has fitted but with a remote reservoir it’s got to be a step up on the original.