Tapping Noise

I have had a 1984 VF1000 sitting in my shed for the last two years, I have started and intend to finish the task of renovating the good old thing. I bought the Bike with a Tapping noise from engine. I thought a Cam or Follower has gone no problem. But have replaced Cams and Followers with new or decent ones. The noise however is still there.
I have now removed the Engine to investigate Further. The Head gasket showed signs of water leaking into the Cylinders. The Exhaust valves have some play in valve guides, how much is acceptable? Could this cause the noise? Could the noise be Piston related? there is very little play with piston / bore.
I am a Motor Car Mechanic, tolerances, idea’s and things are different on Bikes. I do not want to place it all back together and it is still the same. I would appreciate some comments even if it is Go away.
The Noise is more of a Tap rather than a deeper thudding sound.
Tony

Since nobody replied, I’ll give it a try: I have heard that such noise could be a conrod bearing giving up. Does it sound at all like that? I had a very slight tapping sound in my F2, and I tried to locate it with a cheap engine stethoscope. Only conclusion was, that the sound did not come from top end, it sounded to be loudest near the clutch. I never investigated it more, although the engine is still in my garage. All I asked, told me thet the sound is so small, that I should not care about it. Download a shop manual somewhere, there you can find the tolerances and correct repair methods.

Thank you for that, I have taken both Cylinder heads to the Engine reconditioning Engineer that I use for him to pass his eye over the Guides. He said the Tolerance was ok and should not worry. He did Reface the heads and The Problem or Wear is in the Valves stems not the Guides. As these are not easily Available he suggested, Put it back together with new Valve Seals.
They did reface the heads and one was in need of it